Where is the Reverence?


Definition of Reverence: Deep respect for someone or something

    Hello children of God…I pray all is well on your end this grace-filled day! I want to ask you a question family. Have you ever been in the presence of someone that cursed like a seasoned sailor, belligerently gossiped about someone, drank alcohol profusely, professed that they were living a homosexual or fornicating lifestyle with so much pride and absolutely no conviction? Well family, you can either relate to being around someone like this or you may have at one point even been that person-TRUTH TIME! But wait…I forgot to mention that the person with the above “flaws” is a CHRISTian… yes, the person living comfortably in sin, as described above, is someone that you may attend church with, has a church leadership role/title, and of course has “given” their life to the Lord. “Wow” is right! You may ask, but are they not afraid of the Lord? How can they say they are a vessel of the Lord our God and commit such things with absolutely no care or concern? Well, this is why I’m coming to ask you this one thing….WHERE IS THE REVERENCE? Let’s go…

Family, think back to when you were an impressionable child, maybe at the age of 7 years old. Can you recall a time when your parent(s) sternly told you not to do a certain thing and that if you did they were going to punish you (insert spankings, time out, and other great chastisement tools here)? I distinctly remember a time when my mother tore my hind side up after spraying a household disinfectant in my sister’s face…I know, I know- that was a terrible big sister move- don’t judge me, lol! I will NEVER forget how my mom let me have it…not only concerning the physical pain, however I remember the words she said that WOKE ME UP. She said something like, “Tivia, you’re the BIG sister, yet you’re acting like the baby. You could’ve caused your sister to go blind! I’m very disappointed in you”… add other choice words in there as well. :-). Now, because my mom and I had a RELATIONSHIP with good communication, I was made AWARE of when I was not being the daughter she raised me to be. I was made AWARE of the consequences to certain actions. I was made AWARE of the moments I needed to ask for her forgiveness and mercy. Because I both loved and reverenced my mother, I did my best to obey and make her proud to call me “daughter”.

Family, what is your standing with the Lord right now? Do you think it’s “all good” because of the blessings that’s been pouring into your life? God rains on the just and unjust alike; therefore, receiving a new car or job, getting married, winning the lotto, or purchasing a new home does not mean you’re meeting GOD’S standard of holiness, obedience, or sacrifice. It just simply means you were graced and favored by God. You’re probably asking right now…well how will I know if I’m in good standing with God? What can get me back to a place of respecting and honoring the Lord? Family, the answer to this question is by reading the word of God. Reading and studying the bible is another form of communication that we have with Him. Yes, prayer is a VERY important tool of connecting and being intimate with our Heavenly Father, however it should be coupled with reading the scriptures. The bible says in Psalm 138:2 (NKJV), “…For you have magnified Your word above all Your name.” This means that the very essence of the words, wisdom, promises, decrees, and prophesies that are written in the bible are even HIGHER than the name of “Yahweh”, “Jehovah”, or “God” himself! This is how IMPORTANT the word of God is.

In your reading time, the Holy Ghost will lead you to scriptures concerning the very season you are in. It’s alive, active and penetrating! When you’re feeling lonely, the scriptures will tell you that God is with you; He will never leave nor forsake you. When you are afraid, the scriptures will tell you that God has not given you the spirit of fear, but rather power, love and a sound mind. So just like the word encourages, it will also chastise. When we are not living according to God’s standards, the Holy Scriptures will tell us to repent, turn back, and that the wages of sin is death! When we are speaking ill of our brothers and sisters- gossiping like no one’s business, backbiting or cursing, the word of God will remind us that we will be JUDGED on EVERY idle word that proceeds out of our mouth (Matthew 12:36). Wow. And we know that the Lord chastises those HE LOVE. And in that chastisement comes the word of the day–> REVERENCE= HONOR, DEEP RESPECT, FEAR, AND OBEDIENCE. The very thing happened to me two nights ago as I was reading Ezekiel 22 (please go read this right now and you’ll see exactly what I’m talking about). So family, if you find yourself in a state of comfortability or numbness to sin/conviction- just ask yourself, am I reading the word of God? The answer is most likely ‘no’; because the reading of the Holy Scriptures open our eyes to sin and death, and will prep our hearts for TRUE REPENTANCE. If not, I encourage you to start today- because “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding” (Proverbs 9:10, NIV). Where is your reverence? Now go in peace.

Scripture reading for today: Hebrews 12:28-29 28 Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, 29 for our “God is a consuming fire.

~La’Tivia Elizabeth, G.I.R.L.Y With No Apologies

5 thoughts on “Where is the Reverence?

Leave a Reply

